Wrapping Up the School Year Posted on May 26th, 2011 by

At the end of every school year the MCS Department hosts a picnic to let the students and faculty recharge their batteries for the stretch run that is finals week.  This year saw a few changes to the program.  As T.J. Morrison was on sabbatical and Jeff Rosoff was recovering from surgery the grilling was left in the capable hands of Choong-Soo Lee, Russ Park, and Ron Rietz.  With a little help from Choong-Soo’s parents everyone was treated to some Korean BBQ as well as the usual assortment of hamburgers, hotdogs, and bratwursts.



After the meal the department announced some award winners and gave some acknowledgements.  They are as follows.


The John Borneman Prize Par Excellence in Mathematics Scholarship went to Brandon Furey.   This award is named in memory of John Borneman, a 1955 Gustavus Adolphus College graduate, by his family.   It is presented annually to an outstanding student in the fields of mathematics and physics as nominated by the faculty.


The Corey Ervin Prize for Outstanding Contribution to the Department went to Monica Klutzke.  The prize is named for former mathematics major, Corey Ervin, who died in an automobile accident in the fall of 1998.  Corey’s family contributed to a memorial fund in his honor, and the Mathematics and Computer Science Department has chosen to remember Corey by presenting an annual prize in his honor to a student in the department who has gone “above and beyond” the normal activities of study to contribute in a significant way to the mission of the department.


The MCS Department also announced it’s departmental assistants for the upcoming school year.  The fall 2011 Departmental Assistant will be Cory Ruegg, and the spring 2012 Departmental Assistant will be Ben Weiner.  Their departmental duties will include, but not be limited to, carrying the departmental banner at honors day, maintaining the bulletin board, and organizing sessions for students interested in becoming a Math or Computer Science major.


The department also recognized Quentin Ebner, Bryce Bjork and Andrew Tilman for their honorable mention in the Mathematical Contest in Modeling


Guarionex Saliviawas also recognized for all of his hard work as an adjunct instructor this past year.


Comments are closed.